Skip to content
Our Supporters


Thank you

In addition to a number of donors whose names may not appear for privacy purposes, the Writers’ Trust would like to thank the companies, foundations, and individuals below for their generous support during our 2020-21 fiscal year.

To see event sponsors and supporters, please visit our events pages.

If you have any questions about this page or wish to make a correction, please contact Julia Yu at

Page Turners

Margaret Atwood

Jim Balsillie

Marla and David Lehberg

The Estate of Michael George Mercer

Metcalf Foundation

C. Paul Osmanski Fund held at Vancouver Foundation

Robin Pacific

The Estate of Anne Pasold

RBC Foundation

Weston Family Foundation

Visionaries ($50,000+)



Extra Pocket

Dr. Yosef Wosk

Leaders ($25,000+)

Canadian Heritage

Kari Cullen and William Bonnell

Lorraine Greey

J&W Murphy Foundation

Latner Family Foundation

Champions ($10,000+)

Diamond Schmitt Architects

Clair Duff in memory of Catherine Shepard

Deb MacLeod and Ward Sellers

The McClelland & Stewart Charitable Foundation

Podium Publishing ULC

Chris Sexton and Wendy Daniels

Supporters ($5,000+)

  • Sana Halwani
  • Sumant Inamdar
  • Nexus Investment Management Inc.
  • Pitblado Family Foundation
  • Professional Writers Association of Canada
  • Richard Ward and Sandra Sorenson

Friends ($1,000-$4,999)

  • Anne Balcome Cook
  • In memory of Silver Donald Cameron
  • Catherine Clark
  • Mary Cranston and Kevin Spencer
  • Janet Eger
  • Charlie Foran
  • Allen Garson and Alanna Rondi
  • The Michael Griesdorf Fund
  • Sharon Haward-Laird
  • Kate Hilton
  • Rosamond Ivey
  • Lassonde Family Foundation
  • In memory of Mary MacGregor
  • Sandra Martin and Roger Hall
  • Hratch Panossian
  • In memory of Joe Rosenblatt
  • Laura Rubino and Ana Sainz
  • Robin Sears
  • Kirstine Stewart
  • Hal Wake
  • In memory of Jesse Warner
  • Cynthia Wine & Philip Slayton

Friends ($500-$999)

  • Kamal Al-Solaylee
  • CIBC
  • Jane Cooney
  • Timothy Doyle
  • Michael Griesdorf Fund
  • Helium Scribe
  • Gwen Lamont
  • In dedication to Casey Mahood
  • In memory of Sasha Olsson
  • Devyani Saltzman
  • David Saunders
  • Dr. Adam Sol & Rabbi Yael Splansky
  • Nalini Stewart
  • Zoe Whittall

Friends (up to $499)

  • Michael Ainsworth
  • Dorothy Allan
  • Apple Canada
  • Stephanie Babcock
  • Leslie Belzak and Michael McFadden
  • Susan Biggar
  • In dedication to Kate Black
  • Nic Boshart
  • Marilyn Cade
  • Kayla Calder
  • Denise Chong
  • Connie Clement
  • Michael Cranston
  • Dal Tio Family
  • Kate Edwards
  • Cary Fagan
  • In honour of Lorraine Filyer
  • In honour of Natalie Freeman
  • Carole Gerson
  • Anne and Tony Giardini
  • In memory of Graeme Gibson
  • Dr. Sherrill Grace
  • Michael Greenstein in honour of Catherine Caufield
  • Susan and Greg Guichon
  • Roland Gulliver
  • R.J. Harlick
  • Joyce Harris in honour of Jane Griesdorf
  • Marian Hebb
  • Dorris Heffron
  • Hon. Paul T. Hellyer
  • Stephen Hendrie
  • Judith Hinchman
  • Plum Johnson
  • Barbara Kaye
  • Patrick Kennedy
  • Celia and Didi Khayatt in honour of Judith Millen
  • Kelly Kirkham
  • Susan Lawson
  • Amanda Leduc
  • Dennis Lee
  • John D. McInnis
  • Leslie McIntosh
  • Susan McMaster
  • Shannon Moroney
  • Nancy and Larry Murray
  • Grace Beverly Olds
  • Don Oravec and Jim Harper
  • Julie Osborne
  • Lou Pamentar
  • John Pappano
  • Patricia Parsons
  • Victoria Phipps
  • Françoyse Picard
  • Natasha Ramoutar
  • Lynne Raskin in honour of Judy Millen
  • Elise Redekopp
  • Kate Reddy Taylor
  • Sanford and Deborah Riley
  • Dr. Molly Rundle and Stephen Lister
  • RustyNB
  • In appreciation of Devyani Saltzman
  • Jacques Shore
  • David Stephenson
  • Wendi Stewart
  • In memory of Usha Taneja
  • Guybrush Taylor
  • Marilyn Temmer
  • Hayden Trenholm
  • In memory of Nancy Tyler
  • Jean Van Loon
  • Peeranut Visetsuth
  • Janet Wright
  • Julia Yu
  • Donna Zekas


  • Aeroplan Beyond Miles Program
  • Captivate Network Inc.
  • Dawson City Community Library
  • The Globe and Mail
  • Klondike Visitors Association
  • Whitehorse Public Library
“The Writers' Trust is a pillar of the Canadian writing community, providing vital programs for writers at every stage of their careers.”

Lawrence Hill

Winner, 2007 Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction Prize
Ways to contribute