Skip to content

About the Prize

The $60,000 Latner Griffin Writers' Trust Poetry Prize is awarded annually to a Canadian poet in mid-career who has published at least three collections of poetry that demonstrate mastery of the art. Poets will be recognized for a remarkable body of work and for their anticipated future contributions to Canadian poetry. All eligible poets will be considered, there is no age restriction, and no submission process.

The winner is selected by a three-member, independent judging panel and is announced annually at the Writers’ Trust Awards. The prize is generously sponsored by the the Albert and Temmy Latner Family Foundation and Scott Griffin.

2023 Winner


Jury Citation

With incisive descriptions, steady rhythms, and imaginative leaps, Laisha Rosnau’s work shows us the flaws and fragility of being human. Her expansive body of work addresses personal and global issues in language sometimes woven delicately, and other times with necessary force. Ultimately, we are left with the desire to read more from this striking and intelligent poetic voice. The poet takes on themes of immigration, patriarchy, colonial greed, and war; the poet’s body of work to date is unrelenting in its portrayals, but not without depth and complexity. Lines like: “We live in a world saturated by symbolism. Sometimes it is best to be direct” remind us of the power of poetry to be clear-eyed and insistent on the injustices and atrocities of our past, which are still with us in the present moment.

Author Page
“This generous and kind gift for poetry will be forever engraved on the landscape of my heart.”

Louise Bernice Halfe

2017 Latner Writers' Trust Poetry Prize winner