Skip to content

About the Prize

Established in honour of the outspoken and popular MP from Windsor, Ontario, the Shaughnessy Cohen Prize for Political Writing is awarded annually for an exceptional book of literary nonfiction that captures a political subject of relevance to Canadian readers. Sponsored by CN, the prize is awarded annually at the Politics and the Pen gala in Ottawa.

2021 Winner

Ronald J. Deibert

Reset: Reclaiming the Internet for Civil Society

House of Anansi Press

Jury Citation

“Reset is a sweeping, authoritative journey into the threats of the internet for personal and national security in Canada. Ronald J. Deibert combines leading-edge research and gripping stories to expose the dangerous, even deadly, forces lurking online. With trailblazing originality, he explains why Canadians are at risk, and why it’s time to reset the internet to thwart cybercriminals, safeguard political activists, rein in environmental costs, and restrain the mayhem of social media. Reset sounds a warning siren not only for Canada, but for the world.”

— 2021 Shaughnessy Cohen Prize Jury (Peter Dauvergne, Adrian Harewood, and Heather Scoffield)

2021 Finalists

“My affiliation with Writers’ Trust has connected me to a national network of writers and thinkers, and to politicians and policy makers. The generous prize will be used to support the research and writing of my next book.”

— Rachel Giese

2018 Shaughnessy Cohen Prize for Political Writing winner