Skip to content

About the Event

One of Canada's richest awards nights.

Featuring the presentation of seven literary prizes and more than $260,000 to Canadian writers, including the $50,000 Rogers Writers’ Trust Fiction Prize and $60,000 Hilary Weston Writers’ Trust Prize for Nonfiction. Watch a live stream of the awards ceremony beginning at 6:30pm at


The Glenn Gould Studio has automated door opening buttons on their 60 inch entrance doors (the double doors both open for extra width), an accessibility ramp from the lower to upper lobby, and a gender-neutral accessible washroom.

There are two accessible spots available in the Glenn Gould Studio theatre. CBC does everything possible to accommodate special requests and be an inclusive venue. If you have any specific questions, please email

Catherine Hernandez is a proud queer woman of colour, radical mother, theatre practitioner, award-winning author, and the artistic director of b current performing arts. She is of Filipino, Spanish, Chinese, and Indian heritage and she married into the Navajo Nation. Hernandez’ first full-length work of fiction, Scarborough, won the Jim Wong-Chu Award for the unpublished manuscript, was shortlisted for the Toronto Book Award, Edmund White Award for Debut Fiction, Evergreen Forest of Reading Award, and Trillium Book Award, and was also longlisted for CBC’s Canada Reads. Scarborough made the “best of 2017” lists for The Globe and Mail, National Post, Quill and Quire and CBC Books.

Her one-woman show, The Femme Playlist, premiered at Buddies in Bad Times Theatre in 2014 and her plays Kilt Pins, Singkil, The Femme Playlist, and I Cannot Lie to the Stars that Made Me were published by Playwrights Canada Press.

Hernandez has written two children’s books, M is for Mustache: A Pride ABC Book and I Promise, and is currently working on her second novel, Crosshairs (HarperCollins Canada 2020) and her third novel, PSW (HarperCollins Canada 2022). The film adaptation of Scarborough is currently in production (Compy Films, Telefilm Canada, and Reel Asian Film Festival).

Prize Sponsors and Donors

The Hon. Hilary M. Weston
Latner Family Foundation
Marla and David Lehberg
James A. Michener / M&S Charitable Foundation

Government Sponsor

Media Partners