Skip to content

About the Award

The Writers' Trust Engel Findley Award is given to a mid-career writer in recognition of a remarkable body of work, and in anticipation of future contributions to Canadian literature. All Canadian writers are eligible. The winner, selected by a three-member, independent judging panel, is announced annually at the Writers’ Trust Awards.

2020 Winner


Jury Citation

“Kerri Sakamoto is a writer of many gifts. In each of the novelistic worlds that Sakamoto has created, she brings to bear both an elegant lyricism and an unwavering gaze. Her characters are compelling, often coming to hard self-insights to which readers will relate. These are meticulous excavations of the human heart and of dilemmas of personal history. We’re lucky to have this writer in Canada. Her prose contributes richly to our literary conversation.”

— 2020 WT Engel Findley Award Jury (Timothy Taylor, Souvankham Thammavongsa, and Kathleen Winter)

Author Page
“It’s incredible to be told, when it feels like you’re bumping along in the middle of nowhere, that you’re on the right path. It feels like a big, beautiful lifeline.”

– Billie Livingston

2017 Engel Findley Award winner