Skip to content

About the Event

Join us for a lively, literary evening

With a Canadian writer at each table, the Writers’ Trust Storytellers Ball is unlike any other fundraiser. Past guest authors include literary luminaries Margaret Atwood, Adrienne Clarkson, Cherie Dimaline, Emma Donoghue, Lawrence Hill, Thomas King, Ann-Marie MacDonald, Anne Michaels, and Noah Richler.

Storytellers Ball Co-Chairs

Amy Burstyn Fritz and Lucia Remedios
Photo by George Pimentel

2023 Event Committee

Our committee helps to raise the prestige and profile of the Storytellers Ball and, in turn, supports the important work of Writers’ Trust.

Their time and talent help to inform the details of this remarkable event. Writers' Trust sincerely thanks all of this year's committee members:

Amanda Alvaro 

Amy Burstyn-Fritz 

Sonja Berman 

Jaclyn Cobourn 

Devin Connell 

Gabe Gonda 

Kaelen Haworth 

Jen Kirsch 

Marla Lehberg 

Lindsay Mattick 

Sasha McGrath 

Shabin Mohamed 

Alex Moskalyk 

Lucia Remedios 

Kim Tannenbaum 

Nicole Tapscott 

Kate Taylor Martin 

Richard Ward 

2023 Gala Sponsors

Hardcover Sponsors

The Haynes-Connell Foundation
Joanna Griffiths & Dave Barber
Ana Lopes, Don Tapscott & Nicole Tapscott

Paperback Sponsors

Jen Grant & David Dattels
The MacNamara Family
Nadir & Shabin Mohamed


Arbib Foundation 

CD Capital Developments  Ltd.

The Ira Gluskin and Maxine Granovsky Gluskin Charitable Foundation

Crowe Soberman LLP 

Lorraine Greey  

Oberon Capital Corp  

Regent Family Foundation 

Adrian Tauro 

In-Kind Donors 

Décor Sponsor

Chairman Mills

Flower Partner

Atelier Josephine

Design & Printing


Special Project

The Gas Company Inc.



Dundurn Press 


Invisible Books 

Penguin Random House Canada 

Playwrights Canada Press 

Simon & Schuster Canada 

Véhicule Press 

Mystery Shelf Prize Donors

  • Apex Physiotherapy and Massage  
  • Balzac’s Coffee Roasters 
  • Bata Show Museum 
  • Ben McNally Books 
  • Canadian War Museum/Canadian Museum of History 
  • Compass Dermatology  
  • Crow’s Theatre  
  • Drake Hotel Properties  
  • DREAM Unlimited  
  • Factory Theatre 
  • Glowzone 360 Mississauga 
  • L’Intervalle 
  • Lenczner Slaght 
  • Little Canada 
  • Metropolitan Brasserie  
  • Mix Fix Beauty Lab  
  • National Arts Centre 
  • Opera Atelier 
  • Philosophy Fitness 
  • Pomp & Circumstance 
  • Ripley’s Aquarium 
  • Rose Reisman Catering 
  • Sheraton Hotel 
  • Soulpepper Theatre 
  • Steam Whistle Brewery 
  • Tarragon Theatre 
  • The Malahat Review 
  • Toronto Symphony Orchestra