Skip to content

About the Event

Politics and the Pen is a grand celebration of Canadian political and literary cultures.

We're looking forward to seeing you in person again! Politics and the Pen is a highlight of the capital’s social calendar and an important annual fundraising event benefiting Writers’ Trust. The event regularly attracts 500 guests from Canada’s political and literary circles. To date, Politics and the Pen has raised more than $5 million to support Writers’ Trust literary programs.

Held at the Fairmont Château Laurier in Ottawa, Politics and the Pen / la politique et l'écrit is a unique fundraiser bringing together national politicians, talented writers, prominent diplomats, and notable arts and business leaders all in support of Writers’ Trust mandate to advance, nurture, and celebrate Canadian writers and writing. The highlight of the evening is the presentation of the $25,000 Shaughnessy Cohen Prize for Political Writing, named in honour of the spirited and inspiring parliamentarian and generously supported by CN.

Writers' Trust of Canada extends enormous thanks to Politics and the Pen co-chairs Elizabeth Gray-Smith and Patrick Kennedy, and to committee members Jim Armour, Hardave Birk, Maureen Boyd, Heather Bradley, Catherine Clark, and Dan Mader.

2022 Politics and the Pen Co-Hosts

The Honourable Marci Ien
Member of Parliament for Toronto Centre
Minister for Women and Gender Equality and Youth

The Honourable Marci Ien has served as the Member of Parliament for Toronto Centre since October 2020. Prior to being elected to the House of Commons, she had an award-winning career in journalism and television that spanned three decades. She has travelled internationally with Journalists for Human Rights and World Vision. In October 2020, just a day after being elected to Parliament, Ien released her memoir, Off Script: Living Out Loud. She was born and raised in Toronto, where she lives with her children Blaize and Dash.

The Honourable Seamus O’Regan Jr.
Member of Parliament for St. John’s South – Mount Pearl
Minister of Labour

The Honourable Seamus O’Regan Jr. was first elected as the Member of Parliament for St. John’s South – Mount Pearl in 2015. He has previously served as Minister of Natural Resources, Minister of Indigenous Services, and Minister of Veterans Affairs. Prior to politics, he co-hosted CTV’s Canada AM for ten years. O’Regan has traveled to Liberia as a Spread the Net Ambassador in support of the fight against malaria, and to Antarctica with Students on Ice to report on the effects of climate change on our polar regions. Originally from St. John’s, O’Regan was raised in Goose Bay, Labrador.

2022 Supporters

Politics and the Pen Media Partner