Skip to content

About the Award

The Writers' Trust Engel Findley Award is given to a mid-career writer in recognition of a remarkable body of work, and in anticipation of future contributions to Canadian literature. All Canadian writers are considered. The winner, selected by a three-member, independent judging panel, is announced annually at the Writers’ Trust Awards.

“It’s incredible to be told, when it feels like you’re bumping along in the middle of nowhere, that you’re on the right path. It feels like a big, beautiful lifeline.”

– Billie Livingston

2017 Engel Findley Award winner

2018 Winner


Jury Citation

"Alissa York’s impressive oeuvre evinces an abiding fascination with flora and fauna. Her fictions immerse readers in worlds where the human and the natural are inextricable. From the bogs of Manitoba to the rivers of the Amazon rainforest, from the wilderness of Utah to the ravines of Toronto, York’s characters live lives entwined with natural wonders that are as complex, varied, dark, and beautiful as human experience itself. Her writing is polished, intelligent, and starkly original. York writes unflinchingly about violence, cruelty, and greed, and with equal authority about redemption, reverence, and love. We are very fortunate to have her wise and compelling stories and look forward to more to come." —2018 Writers' Trust Engel/Findley Award Jury (Devon Code, Billie Livingston, and Tessa McWatt)

Author Page