About the Prize

The Writers’ Trust McClelland & Stewart Journey Prize recognizes the year’s best short story by an emerging writer first published in a Canadian literary journal or anthology. The prize is supported by James A. Michener’s donation of his Canadian royalty earnings from his novel Journey. In association with the prize, McClelland & Stewart annually publishes The Journey Prize Stories anthology, a collection of the longlisted stories.The winner is announced at the Writers’ Trust Awards in Toronto.

2018 Winner

Shashi Bhat


Jury Citation

See more


Our 2019 jurors were announced on January 29. Together they will select the best Canadian short stories of the past year.

The Journey Prize Stories 30

2018 Long List

Shashi Bhat for “Mute”

published in The Dalhousie Review

Greg Brown for “Bear” and “Love”

published in Pulp Literature

Alicia Elliott for “Tracks”

published in The New Quarterly

Liz Harmer for “Never Prosper”

published in The New Quarterly

Philip Huynh for “The Forbidden Purple City”

published in EVENT

Jason Jobin for “Before He Left”

published in The Malahat Review

Aviva Dale Martin for “Barcelona”

published in PRISM international

Rowan McCandless for “Castaways”

published in Prairie Fire

Sofia Mostaghimi for “Desperada”

published in This Magazine

Jess Taylor for “Two Sex Addicts Fall in Love”

published in This Magazine

Iryn Tushabe for “A Separation”

published in CVC Anthology Series

Carly Vandergriendt for “Resurfacing”

published in CVC Anthology Series

“I owe a lot to the Journey Prize. An agent, a book deal. A renewed faith in my work. All signs that seem to say I’m on the right track.”