Skip to content


Award History

2011 Winner

Atwood Gibson Writers’ Trust Fiction Prize
for The Sisters Brothers

Jury Citation

“Cinematic in its scope, meditative in its tone, and brilliantly inventive in its characterization, The Sisters Brothers is a book unlike any you may read during this or the coming years. Unforgettable. Joyous and genre-bending, Patrick deWitt’s exploration of the blurred lines between good and evil is masterful and mesmerizing. This is the sort of material that, in lesser hands, could easily have sunk into middling farce, but deWitt’s portrayal of the homicidal brothers and the quixotic roster of characters thrown in their path is fresh, moving, insightful, and always funny. — 2011 Rogers Writers’ Trust Fiction Prize Jury (Emma Donoghue, Rabindranath Maharaj, and Margaret Sweatman)

Works recognized by WT