Skip to content


Award History

2006 Winner

Hilary Weston Writers’ Trust Prize for Nonfiction
for The Book of Revenge: A Blues for Yugoslavia

Jury Citation

“The Book of Revenge is a magnificent coming-of-age memoir, capturing Dragan Todorovic's upbringing in Tito's Yugoslavia through exquisite storytelling and ribald humour. But it is also a potent elegy for a lost nation, and a hedonist's unashamed apologia for freedom in the face of fascism. Todorovic's writing is eloquent, poised and witty, a remarkable feat considering the writer knew only 100 words of English in 1993.” – 2006 Writers’ Trust Nonfiction Prize Jury (Alma Lee, Ian Pearson, and Bill Waiser)

Works recognized by WT

The Book of Revenge: A Blues for Yugoslavia