Skip to content

About the Prize

The Rogers Writers’ Trust Fiction Prize recognizes Canadian writers of exceptional talent for the year’s best novel or short story collection as selected by a three-member, independent judging panel.

The prize has been sponsored by Rogers Communications Inc. since its inception in 1997. The winner is announced at the Writers’ Trust Awards in Toronto.

2019 Finalists


Our 2019 jurors are Dennis Bock, Michael Kaan, and Suzette Mayr.

“Having recently arrived in the country, reading a spread of contemporary fiction gives me a better insight into the various facets of Canadian culture than any tour guide possibly could.”

— Zaneta Laurence, Supporter