About the Prize

The Rogers Writers’ Trust Fiction Prize recognizes Canadian writers of exceptional talent for the year’s best novel or short story collection as selected by a three-member, independent judging panel.

The prize has been sponsored by Rogers Communications Inc. since its inception in 1997. The winner is announced at the Writers’ Trust Awards in Toronto.

2018 Winner

Kathy Page

Dear Evelyn


Jury Citation

See more


2018 jurors Ann Y. K. Choi, Mireille Silcoff, and Robert Wiersema read 128 books submitted by 54 publishers.

Jury Statement

“For me, having recently arrived in the country, reading a spread of contemporary fiction gives me a better insight into the various facets of Canadian culture than any tour guide possibly could.”
Donate now to help ensure Canadian stories get told