Skip to content

About the Prize

The Latner Writers' Trust Poetry Prize is given to a mid-career poet in recognition of a remarkable body of work, and in anticipation of future contributions to Canadian poetry. All Canadian poets are considered.

The winner is selected by a three-member, independent judging panel and is announced annually at the Writers’ Trust Awards. The prize is generously sponsored by Latner Family Foundation.

2021 Winner


Jury Citation

“Weyman Chan’s urgent, unflinching, and redemptive poems span generations and geographies from Calgary to China,” said the jury. “Chan’s writing bursts with lyricism, wonder, and quiet ache. His poems are as concerned with notions of longing as with belonging. In Chan, we find a remarkable voice in Canadian poetry — necessary and distinct.”

2021 Latner Writers’ Trust Poetry Prize Jury (Shane Book and Gillian Sze)

Author Page
“This generous and kind gift for poetry will be forever engraved on the landscape of my heart.”

Louise Bernice Halfe

2017 Latner Writers' Trust Poetry Prize winner