About the Prize

The Hilary Weston Writers’ Trust Prize for Nonfiction is given annually for excellence in the category of literary nonfiction, which includes essays, history, biography, memoir, commentary, and criticism. The winning book demonstrates a distinctive voice, as well as a persuasive and compelling command of tone, narrative, style, and technique. The prize has been sponsored by The Hon. Hilary M. Weston since 2011.

2018 Winner

Elizabeth Hay

All Things Consoled: A Daughter’s Memoir

McClelland & Stewart

Jury Citation

See more
“Winning the Weston Prize was like having a huge burst of fireworks go off in the middle of my life — an explosion of adrenaline and joy.”


2018 jurors Michael Harris, Donna Bailey Nurse, and Joel Yanofsky read 107 titles submitted by 58 publishers.