Award History

Jury Citation

“Wayne Johnston spins wonderful stories; he is a gather-you-round-and-I-will-enchant-you raconteur. He has absorbed the world around him — the tall tales, the history, the epic of a place — and adapted it to a narrative style that is clearly his own. His stories charm and beguile.
He writes about the ordinary and extraordinary people of Newfoundland with great empathy and without a shred of sentimentality. At the same time his fiction has a mythic quality: Smallwood walking across the island through drifted snow; a father and son surviving a long trek through winter woods by holding onto a horse and one another; an iceberg with the likeness of the Virgin Mary.

Wayne Johnston’s fiction is subtle, his passion understated, his humour underpinned by tragedy. All of his work, superbly written, is a powerful combination of insight, talent and revelation. It is made to endure.”

— 2011 Writers’ Trust Engel/Findley Award Jury (David Bergen, Joan Clark Miriam Toews)

1999 Finalist

Hilary Weston Writers’ Trust Prize for Nonfiction
for Baltimore’s Mansion: A Memoir

1998 Finalist

Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction Prize
for The Colony of Unrequited Dreams

Works recognized by WT

Baltimore’s Mansion: A Memoir

The Colony of Unrequited Dreams

The Custodian of Paradise

The Divine Ryans

Human Amusements

The Navigator of New York

The Story of Bobby O’Malley

A World Elsewhere