Skip to content


Thomas Wharton is a writer, editor, and professor. His first novel, Icefields, won the Banff Mountain Book Festival Grand Prize, the Writers’ Guild of Alberta First Book Award, and a regional Commonwealth Writers’ Prize for Best First Book. His novel Salamander was shortlisted for the Rogers Writers’ Trust Fiction Prize and his short story collection The Logogryph was shortlisted for the International Dublin Literary Award. Wharton has also published a young adult fantasy trilogy and a picture book for children. He teaches creative writing at the University of Alberta and lives in Edmonton.

Award History

2023 Finalist

Atwood Gibson Writers’ Trust Fiction Prize
for The Book of Rain

Jury Citation

“Thomas Wharton’s The Book of Rain  is a whole living world in itself. It is a mystery in three linked narratives, it is climate fiction, and it is a kind of mythology, creating a strange, gorgeous, utterly haunting work. Wharton’s writing is clear and elegant, yet the story continually startles readers with the turns it takes as its characters seek what has been lost. He accomplishes this with precision and grace. The Book of Rain shimmers with imagination, depth, and optimism.” — 2023 Atwood Gibson Writers' Trust Fiction Prize Jury (francesca ekwuyasi, Alix Hawley, MG Vassanji)

Works recognized by WT