Skip to content


Sharon Butala is an author of fiction and nonfiction. Her first-ever story collection, Queen of the Headaches, was a finalist for a Governor General’s Award, as was her memoir The Perfection of the Morning. Her novel Wild Rose was shortlisted for the W.O. Mitchell Book Prize. Butala is a recipient of the Marian Engel Award, the Saskatchewan Order of Merit, and in 2002 she became an Officer of the Order of Canada. Born and raised in Saskatchewan, she lived most of her life in that province, and now resides in Calgary, Alberta.


Sharon Butala on Season of Fury and Wonder

Award History

2019 Finalist

Atwood Gibson Writers’ Trust Fiction Prize
for Season of Fury and Wonder

Jury Citation

"This fearless collection of short stories addresses head-on the physical, emotional, and spiritual challenges of aging women. The protagonists in these stories do not just rage against the dying of the light; they grab it by the throat, forcing the reader to confront uncomfortable and revelatory truth concerning what it is to age in a female body. Inspired by canonical stories such as John Cheever’s 'The Swimmer,' James Joyce’s 'The Dead,' and Shirley Jackson’s 'The Lottery,' Butala reinvigorates aging myths and the writing craft itself. Season of Fury and Wonder is poetic, flawless, and unflinching."

— 2019 Rogers Writers’ Trust Fiction Prize Jury (Dennis Bock, Michael Kaan, and Suzette Mayr)