Skip to content


Patrick Lane was the author of 25 books of poetry, fiction, and nonfiction. He received numerous awards for his writing, including the Governor General’s Award for Poetry, the Canadian Authors Association Award, and three National Magazine Awards. He was a two-time Writers’ Trust award finalist having been nominated for the Pearson Writers’ Trust Non-Fiction Prize in 2004 for his memoir, There Is a Season: A Memoir in a Garden, and for the Rogers Writers’ Trust Fiction Prize in 2008 for his first novel Red Dog, Red Dog. Born in Nelson, British Columbia, in 1939, Lane lived near Victoria with his wife, poet Lorna Crozier. He died in 2019 at the age of 79.

Award History

2008 Finalist

Atwood Gibson Writers’ Trust Fiction Prize
for Red Dog, Red Dog

2004 Finalist

Hilary Weston Writers’ Trust Prize for Nonfiction
for There Is a Season: A Memoir in a Garden