Skip to content

Nancy Jo

Nancy Jo Cullen won the 2010 Dayne Ogilvie Prize for LGBT Emerging Writers and served as a prize juror this year. She was a finalist in 1994 for the Bronwen Wallace Award and she has twice contributed to the Journey Prize Stories. She is the author of three critically acclaimed collections of poetry. Her short story collection Canary won the 2012 Metcalf-Rooke Award. Nancy divides her time between Toronto and Kingston.

Award History

Jury Citation

“Nancy Jo Cullen's poetry combines a remarkable blend of accessibility, depth, precision and honesty. She tackles dark corners without false dramatics or pretensions. There is a genuine realness in her language. This is a writer who feels like a friend.” -- 2010 Dayne Ogilvie Prize for LGBTQ Emerging Writers Jury (Brian Francis, Don Hannah, and Suzette Mayr)

Works recognized by WT


Science Fiction Saint

Untitled Child