Skip to content


Linda Bailey is the author of nearly forty books for children. Mary Who Wrote Frankenstein was cited as a Best Book of the Year by Publishers Weekly, the Globe and Mail, the New York Public Library, CBC, and Booklist, among others. In addition to these, Bailey has been awarded the Blue Spruce Award, the Silver Birch Award the Shining Willow Award (twice), the BC Chocolate Lily Award (five times), the Red Cedar Award, the California Young Reader Medal, the Georgia Storybook Award, the Christie Harris Award, the Hackmatack Award, and the Arthur Ellis Award (twice). She lives in Vancouver.

Award History

Jury Citation

“Warm, humorous, and fun are the best words to describe the works of Linda Bailey over a career that has spanned three decades,” said the jury. “Bailey’s highly imaginative, propulsive plots frequently send characters — two, four, and six-legged — on journeys across uncharted territory or time, driven by burning questions or a yearning to escape the ordinary.”

— 2021 Vicky Metcalf Award for Literature for Young People Jury (Hadley Dyer, Marthe Jocelyn, and Mahtab Narsimhan)

Works recognized by WT

Mary Who Wrote Frankenstein

Princesses Versus Dinosaurs

Stanley's Party

The Tiny Hero of Ferny Creek Library

Toads on Toasy