Skip to content


Award History

2003 Winner

Atwood Gibson Writers’ Trust Fiction Prize
for Country of Cold

Jury Citation

“A story collection innovative in form with characters that are flesh-and-bone solid, both familiar and unexpected at the same time. Patterson writes prose with intimate, unerring dialogue, a sharp eye for the telling image, and a sixth sense for choosing exactly the right moment to convey his emotional punch. Country of Cold is a gripping, exquisitely crafted collection of linked stories.” —2003 Rogers Writers’ Trust Fiction Prize Jury (Kevin Chong, Lisa Moore, and Diane Schoemperlen)

Works recognized by WT

Country of Cold