Skip to content


Award History

2012 Finalist

RBC Bronwen Wallace Award for Emerging Writers
for Under the ‘I’

Jury Citation

“‘Under the “I”’ seems to capture an entire world in the space of just a few pages. The story’s pitch-perfect dialogue, quiet pace, and the deftness with which it balances descriptive detail with psychological insight, creates the sort of vivid imaginative setting you feel, upon first encounter, that you’ve ’always known.’ But then you realize you don’t. The story has a sharp edge and an emotional charge to it that surprises and disorients.” — 2012 RBC Bronwen Wallace Award Jury (Alexander MacLeod, Johanna Skibsrud, and Madeleine Thien)

Works recognized by WT

At the Bottom of the Garden