Award History

2014 Finalist

Hilary Weston Writers’ Trust Prize for Nonfiction
for Boundless: Tracing Land and Dream in a New Northwest Passage

Jury Citation

Boundless is a sensual, philosophical, myth-busting journey through the high Arctic on a search for a grounded meaning of the North West Passage. Its transcendent writing and superb weaving of action, interview, memoir, history, geology, flora, and fauna transmits Kathleen Winter's personal, and profoundly universal, natural awareness. Boundless opens our minds and senses, and enriches our spiritual connection to ourselves through nature. This quirky, eloquent paean to the land blesses readers with its bounty.” – 2014 Hilary Weston Writers’ Trust Prize for Nonfiction Jury (Charles Foran, Priscila Uppal, and Merrily Weisbord)

2010 Finalist

Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction Prize
for Annabel