2002 Winner

Writers’ Trust/McClelland & Stewart Journey Prize

for Miss Canada

Jury Citation

“The power of Jocelyn Brown's “Miss Canada” lies primarily in the headlong rush of voice, detail, and dark humour. Miss Miracle Whip, Miss Velveeta, Miss Cherry Blossom, and Miss Petit Dejeuner are put through their paces without a single false step in a seamless blending of dialogue and narrative that leaves the reader short of breath.”

— 2002 Journey Prize Jury (Andre Alexis, Derek McCormack, and Diane Schoemperlen)