Skip to content


Cherie Dimaline is the author of six books, including the young adult novel The Marrow Thieves. It won the Burt Award for First Nations, Métis and Inuit Literature, a Governor General’s Literary Award, the Kirkus Prize in Young Readers’ Literature, and was a finalist for the Trillium Book Award. It was also a Book of Year on numerous lists including National Public Radio, the School Library Journal, the New York Public Library, Globe and Mail, Quill & Quire and the CBC. Her adult novel, Empire of Wild, was an Indigo #1 Best Book of 2019. From the Georgian Bay Métis Community in Ontario, she lives in Midland, Ontario.

Award History

Jury Citation

“Cherie Dimaline is a fearless and transformative storyteller,” said the jury. “Her devotion to craft and character manifests prose, both rich and earthy, that transcends genre and threads together Indigenous heritage with historical and contemporary realities… Dimaline continues to forge a fresh pathway into the landscape of Canadian literature.”

— 2021 Writers’ Trust Engel Findley Award Jury (David A. Robertson, Kerri Sakamoto, and Russell Wangersky)

Works recognized by WT

Empire of Wild

A Gentle Habit

The Marrow Thieves