Skip to content


Casey Plett is the author of the short story collection A Safe Girl to Love, the novel Little Fish, and co-editor of the anthology Meanwhile, Elsewhere: Science Fiction and Fantasy from Transgender Writers. She wrote a column on transitioning for McSweeney’s Internet Tendency and her essays and reviews have appeared in The New York TimesMaclean’sThe WalrusPlenitude, and the Winnipeg Free Press. She is the winner of a Lambda Literary Award for Best Transgender Fiction, a finalist for this year’s Amazon Canada First Novel Award, and a was a past finalist for the 2015 Dayne Ogilvie Prize for LGBTQ Emerging Writers. She lives in Windsor, Ontario.

Award History

Jury Citation

“Casey Plett’s work goes straight to the bone of what it means to be human in a world that is at once cruel and kind — and not always in equal measure. Her prose shimmers with sharp insight, heartbreaking humour, and above all, total mastery of the craft of writing. With consummate skill, Plett challenges us to see the lives of the trans women, sex workers, and other marginalized people she writes about with greater clarity and depth: a lasting gift that will leave its mark on Canadian and LGBTQ literature.”

—2019 Dayne Ogilvie Prize jury (Amber Dawn and Kai Cheng Thom)

Jury Citation

“Casey Plett’s debut collection of stories bravely reveals the bleak and the beautiful in the lives of trans people in North America. A Safe Girl to Love dares us to look candidly at ourselves through the eyes of trans characters as they negotiate their place in queer and cisgendered communities.” -- 2015 Dayne Ogilvie Prize for LGBTQ Emerging Writers Jury (Nancy Cullen, Brett Josef Grubisic, and Anand Mahadevan)

Works recognized by WT

A Safe Girl to Love