Skip to content


Caroline Adderson is a novelist, short story writer, and author of several books for young readers. In 2006, she won the Writers’ Trust Marian Engel Award for mid-career achievement. Adderson has been nominated for numerous awards for her work, including the International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award, two Commonwealth Writers’ Prizes, a Governor General’s Literary Award, and the Rogers Writers’ Trust Fiction Prize. She lives in Vancouver.

Award History

Jury Citation

“From Bad Imaginings to Pleased to Meet You, Caroline Adderson is one of the most original voices in Canada today. Her work stands out for its imaginative breadth and intelligent exuberance. In sharp, witty prose that is both plainspoken and subtly artful, she displays her gift for empathetically inhabiting her characters and for laying bare the edgy emotions and moral conundrums of our lives.”
— 2006 Marian Engel Award Jury (Steven Heighton, Gayla Reid, and Dianne Warren)

1999 Finalist

Atwood Gibson Writers’ Trust Fiction Prize
for A History of Forgetting

Works recognized by WT

A History of Forgetting