Skip to content

About the Prize

The Dayne Ogilvie Prize is presented annually to a Canadian writer from the LGBTQ community who demonstrates great potential in the early stages of their career through an exceptional body of work.

The prize was established in 2007 by Robin Pacific in honour of her late friend, who was a respected editor, writer, literary manager, and passionate lover of all the arts. The winner is announced at a special event during Pride Month.

“The recognition gives a lot of agency, power, and love back to those of us who are producing and writing right now.”

– Joshua Whitehead

2018 Dayne Ogilivie Prize finalist