Politics and the Pen

Wednesday, May 10, 2017

2016 Shaughnessy Cohen Prize for Political Writing finalists - polipen 2016 Politics and the Pen

The Fairmont Château Laurier Ballroom

A highlight of our capital’s social calendar, Politics and the Pen is a grand celebration of Canadian political and literary cultures. Held annually at the Fairmont Château Laurier, this unique fundraiser brings together national politicians, talented writers, prominent diplomats, and notable arts and business leaders—all in support of the Writers' Trust's mandate to advance, nurture, and celebrate Canadian writers and writing

Politics and the Pen 2017 will take place on May 10. As always, the climax of the evening will be the presentation of the $25,000 Shaughnessy Cohen Prize for Political Writing, named in honour of the spirited and inspiring parliamentarian and generously sponsored by Aimia. 

Last year, John Ibbitson took home the 2015 Shaughnessy Cohen Prize for his biography, Stephen Harper. Read more about why the jury loved his book and discover last year's finalists, selected by a jury composed of military historian Tim Cook, author and Globe and Mail journalist Robyn Doolittle, and McGill University professor and political commentator Antonia Maioni.

2015 Shaughnessy Cohen Prize Winner

John Ibbitson 2015 Shaughnessy COhen Prize for Political Writing Winner Stephen Harper

John Ibbitson for Stephen Harper
Signal/McClelland & Stewart


Greg Donaghy for Grit: The Life and Politics of Paul Martin Sr., published by UBC Press
Greg Donaghy
 for Grit: The Life and Politics of Paul Martin Sr.
UBC Press

Norman Hillmer for O.D. Skelton: A Portrait of Canadian Ambition, published by University of Toronto Press
Norman Hillmer 
for O.D. Skelton: A Portrait of Canadian Ambition
University of Toronto Press

Andrew Nikiforuk for Slick Water: Fracking and One Insider’s Stand Against the World’s Most Powerful Industry, published by Greystone Books and the David Suzuki Institute
Andrew Nikiforuk 
for Slick Water: Fracking and One Insider’s Stand Against the World’s Most Powerful Industry
Greystone Books and the David Suzuki Institute

Sheila Watt-Cloutier for The Right to Be Cold: One Woman’s Story of Protecting Her Culture, the Arctic, and the Whole Planet, published by Allen Lane
Sheila Watt-Cloutier for The Right to Be Cold: One Woman’s Story of Protecting Her Culture, the Arctic, and the Whole Planet
Allen Lane

The Writers' Trust of Canada extends enormous thanks to the 2017 Politics and the Pen co-chairs, Patrick Kennedy and Alayne Crawford and to committee members Jim Armour, Maureen Boyd, Heather Bradley, Catherine Clark, Elizabeth Gray-Smith, Dan Mader, Francoyse Picard, Elizabeth Roscoe, and Max St. Pierre.

For questions about Politics and the Pen, please contact:
Kayla Calder, Coordinator of Special Events and Sponsorships
kcalder@writerstrust.com or 416-504-8222 x243

2016 Event Sponsors

  • Aimia
  •  CIBC
  • Microsoft
Video Sponsor
  • Shaw
  • Amazon.ca
  • Bell
  • Canadian Professional Accountants Canada
  • Imperial
  • Visa
  • Bluesky Strategy Group
  • Bank of Montreal
  • CBC 
  • CN
  • Dentons
  • Genome Canada
  • Innovative Medicines Canada
  • Insurance Bureau of Canada
  • Lafarge
  • Morneau Shepell
  • Quebecor
  • Resolute Forest Products
  • Scotiabank
  • SNC Lavalin
  • CBA
  • Canadian Credit Union Association
  • Canadian Wireless Telecommunications Association
  • Crestview
  •  Earnsliffe
  •  Fleishman Hillard
  • Fotenn
  • Gowlings
  • Hill+Knowlton
  • Doug Knight
  • MDA
  • National Arts Centre
  • Passmore Group Inc.
  • Rogers
  • RBC
  • Strategy Corp
  •  TD
    2016 Guest Writers 
  • Kamal Al-Solaylee
  • Antony Anderson
  • Peter Behrens
  • Mark Bourrie
  • Ian Brown
  • Nicole Casteran
  • Denise Chong
  • Andrew Cohen
  • Tim Cook
  • Susan Delacourt
  • Janice Dickson
  • Cherie Dimaline
  • Greg Donaghy
  • Robyn Doolittle
  • Max Eisen
  • John English
  • Terry Fallis
  • Dan Gardner
  • Camilla Gibb
  • Charlotte Gray
  • David Halton
  • Teva Harrison
  • Elizabeth Hay
  • Joseph Heath
  • Chantal Hébert
  • Norman Hillmer
  • John Ibbitson
  • Frances Itani
  • Colleen Jones
  • Sandra Martin
  • Lawrence Martin
  • Monia Mazigh
  • Dalton McGuinty
  • Lindy Mechefske
  • Alain Miguelez
  • Jody Mitic
  • Saleema Nawaz
  • Don Newman
  • Andrew Nikiforuk
  • Kevin Page
  • Bob Plamondon
  • Waubgeshig Rice
  • Reva Seth
  • Russell Smith
  • John Stackhouse
  • Don Tapscott
  • Sheila Watt-Cloutier
  • Paul Wells
  • Les Whittington
  • Alissa York
    2016 Guest Politicians 
  • Mr./M. Will Amos
  • Hon./L’hon. Navdeep Bains
  • Mr./M. John Barlow
  • Hon./L’hon. Carolyn Bennett
  • Hon./L’hon. Maxime Bernier
  • Hon./L’hon. Douglas Black
  • Hon./L’hon. Steven Blaney
  • Mr./M. Randy Boissonnault
  • Hon./L’hon. Scott Brison
  • Mr./M. Gordon Brown
  • Ms./Mme Celina Caesar-Chavannes
  • Hon./L’hon. Jim Carr
  • Hon./L’hon. Michael Chong
  • Hon./L’hon. Tony Clement
  • Mr./M. Nathan Cullen
  • Mr./M. Rodger Cuzner
  • Hon./L’hon. Jean-Yves Duclos
  • Hon./L’hon. Kirsty Duncan
  • Hon./L’hon. Ed Fast
  • Mr./M. Greg Fergus
  • Hon./L’hon. Judy Foote
  • Hon./L’hon. Hedy Fry
  • Hon./L’hon. Marc Garneau
  • Hon./L’hon. Ralph Goodale
  • Mr./M. Raj Grewal
  • Hon./L’hon. Peter Harder
  • Mr./M. Mark Holland
  • Ms./Mme Gudie Hutchings
  • Hon./L’hon. Mélanie Joly
  • Ms./Mme Yvonne Jones
  • Ms./Mme Jenny Kwan
  • Mr./M. David Lametti
  • Hon./L’hon. Kellie Leitch
  • Mr./M. Andrew Leslie
  • Mr./M. Steve MacKinnon
  • Ms./Mme Elizabeth May
  • Ms./Mme Karen McCrimmon
  • Hon./L’hon. John McKay
  • Hon./L’hon. Catherine Mary McKenna
  • Hon./L’hon. Maryam Monsef
  • Hon./L’hon. Jim Munson
  • Ms./Mme Joyce Murray
  • Mr./M. Pierre Nantel
  • Hon./L’hon. Deepak Obhrai
  • Hon./L’hon. Erin O’Toole
  • Hon./L’hon. Lisa Raitt
  • Hon./L’hon. Geoff Regan
  • Mr./M. Pablo Rodriguez
  • Ms./Mme Kim Rudd
  • Mr./M. Raj Saini
  • Hon./L’hon. Andrew Scheer
  • Mr./M. Peter Schiefke
  • Hon./L’hon. Hunter Tootoo
  • Mr./M. Adam Vaughan

Writers' Trust Sponsorship

Interested in Corporate
or Foundation sponsorship?

For more details about opportunities, recognition, and to see a list of our current sponsors...More


Recommended Reading List

We asked some of Canada's finest writers about their favourite books of 2016.

Read their Recommendations.


E Newsletter Sign Up

Sign-up for our eNewsletter. Get info about Authors and our latest Events.

Sign up now!

Site design & development supported by

ecentricarts inc