RBC Bronwen Wallace Award for Emerging Writers

Winner: $5,000; Finalists: $1,000
Supported by

RBC Emerging Artists Project



RBC Bronwen Wallace Award Finalists May 11, Winner June 8 

Finalist Announcement: May 11 via press release
Winner Reveal: June 8 at a ceremony in Toronto


2015 Winner

 2015 RBC Bronwen Wallace Award for Emerging Writers Winner Alessandra Naccarato for “Re-Origin of Species”

 Alessandra Naccarato 
“Re-Origin of Species"

A writer, performer, and teacher based in Vancouver, Naccarato is currently completing an MFA in creative writing at the University of British Columbia. She has toured nationally and internationally as a spoken word artist and worked with youth across the country.



Irfan Ali for “Who I Think About When I Think About You” 2015 RBC Bronwen Wallace Award for Emerging Writers

Irfan Ali
“Who I Think About When I Think About You” 

Ali is a free-verse poet and short story writer based in Toronto. His work has appeared in the anthologies Underground Inspirationsand West of What We Know. Outside of his craft, Irfan keeps himself busy as a teacher, program manager, and DJ.

Chuqiao Yang for “Roads Home” 2015 RBC Bronwen Wallace Award for Emerging Writers
Chuqiao Yang
“Roads Home”

Yang is currently completing a doctorate in law at the University of Windsor. Her writing has appeared in Prism International,Contemporary Verse 2Filling Station,RoomGrain, and on several CBC radio broadcasts. She is the recipient of two Western Magazine Awards.

Read Prize-Nominated Poetry

Poetry by each finalist is available for free download on iBooks at iTunes.com/BronwenWallace (along with featured works of past years' finalists).

Download on the iBookstore

2015 RBC Bronwen Wallace Award for Emerging Writers Poetry by winner Alessandra Naccarato “Re-Origin of Species" and finalists Irfan Ali “Who I Think About When I Think About You” and Chuqiao Yang  “Roads Home”

You can also read the 2015 nominated works in PDF.



2015 Event Photos


About the Award

Bronwen WallaceThe RBC Bronwen Wallace Award is open to writers under the age of 35 and unpublished in book form. Alternating each year between poetry and short fiction, the 2015 award was given for an exceptional work of poetry. The $5,000 award is supported by the RBC Emerging Artists Project, which invests in developing artists to help build their professional careers. 

In its 20 year history, the RBC Bronwen Wallace Award has distinguished 69 young writers with a nomination and many have gone on to receive literary acclaim. Past winners include Michael Crummey, Stephanie Bolster, Alissa York, Sonnet L’Abbe, Alison Pick, Jeramy Dodds, Marjorie Celona, Garth Martens, and most recently, Alessandra Naccarato.

Bronwen Wallace was a poet, short story writer, and mentor to many young writers as a creative writing instructor at Queen's University and St. Lawrence College in Kingston. This prize was established in her honour in 1994 by a group of friends and colleagues. Wallace felt that writers should receive greater recognition early in their careers and so this annual award is given to a writer below the age of 35 who has published poetry or prose in literary magazines, journals, or anthologies, but has not yet been published in book form.

About RBC’s Commitment to Community and Sustainability

Royal Bank of Canada (RY on TSX and NYSE) is Canada's largest bank and one of the largest banks in the world, based on market capitalization. For more information, please visit rbc.com. RBC is recognized among the world’s financial, social and environmental leaders and is listed on the 2014 Dow Jones Sustainability World Index, the DJSI North American Index, the Jantzi Social Index and the FTSE4Good Index. RBC is one of Canada’s Greenest Employers, and one of Canada’s 50 Most Socially Responsible Corporations.

RBC supports a broad range of community initiatives through donations, sponsorships and employee volunteer activities. In 2013, RBC contributed more than $104 million to causes worldwide, including donations and community investments of more than $69 million and $35 million in sponsorships. Learn more at rbc.com/community-sustainability.



Writers' Trust Fellowship
Nomination Deadline

May 20, 2016

Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction Prize
Second Deadline

May 25, 2016
For books published between
March 23 - May 24

Hilary Weston Writers' Trust Prize for Nonfiction
Second Deadline

May 25, 2016
For books published between
March 23 - May 24

Shaughnessy Cohen Prize for Political Writing  
First Deadline

June 15, 2016
For books published between
Jan 1 - June 14

Woodcock Fund



Recommended Reading List

We asked some of Canada's finest writers about their favourite books of 2015.

Read their Recommendations.


E Newsletter Sign Up

Sign-up for our eNewsletter. Get info about Authors and our latest Events.

Sign up now!

Site design & development supported by

ecentricarts inc