Dayne Ogilvie Prize for LGBT Emerging Writers

Winner: $4,000; Finalists: $250
Sponsored by Robin Pacific

2016 Dayne Ogilvie Prize  for LGBT Emerging Writers  Saturday, June 18, 5-6pm  Harbourfront Centre, Toronto  Join us as we award a $4,000 winner and two honours of distinction.

Please join the Writers' Trust of Canada as we fĂȘte this year's winner of the $4,000 Dayne Ogilvie Prize for LGBT Emerging Writers. Two honours of distinction will receive $250.

Past honouree Brian Francis hosts a special celebration of the 10th anniversary of the prize on June 18 at the Canadian Writers’ Summit.

Saturday, June 18 | Presentation at 5pm
Harbourfront Centre, 231 Queen's Quay West, Toronto 


2015 Winner

2015 RBC Bronwen Wallace Award for Emerging Writers Winner Alessandra Naccarato for “Re-Origin of Species”

Alex Leslie

Alex Leslie is the author of the short story collection People Who Disappear, which was nominated for the 2013 Lambda Award for Debut Fiction and a 2013 ReLit Award, as well as a collection of prose poems, The things I heard about you, which was shortlisted for the 2014 Robert Kroestch Award for Innovative Poetry. Leslie has edited issues of Poetry Is Dead magazine (2012) and The Incongruous Quarterly (2012). She lives in Vancouver.




Honours of Distinction

Casey Plett 2015 Dayne Ogilvie Prize Honour of Distinction

Casey Plett

Casey Plett's debut collection of short stories, A Safe Girl To Love, was published in 2014. A trans woman, she wrote a column on transitioning for McSweeney’s Internet Tendency. Her work has been featured in The Walrus, Plenitude, Two Serious Ladies, Anomalous Press, and other publications. She lives in Winnipeg.

Vivek Shraya 2015 Dayne Ogilvie Prize Honour of Distinction

Vivek Shraya 

A three-time Lambda Literary Award finalist,Vivek Shraya's body of work includes ten albums, four short films, and three books. Her debut novel, She of the Mountains, was named one of the Globe and Mail’s Best Books of 2014.  


About the Prize

Writers who demonstrate great literary potential are celebrated annually with this unique prize, the only one of its kind serving the LGBT community in Canada. 

Established in 2007, the prize is presented annually to an emerging Canadian writer from the LGBT community who demonstrates great promise through a body of work of exceptional quality. Writers who identify themselves as LGBT are eligible and while no age restriction exists, the prize is intended for developing writers. The winner, along with two honours of distinction, is selected by a three-member, independent judging panel. Past winners of the prize include Michael V. Smith, Zoe Whittall, and Amber Dawn. 

About the Sponsor

The Dayne Ogilvie Prize is funded by an endowment established by artist Robin Pacific in honour of her late friend Dayne Ogilvie, a highly respected book editor, writer, and passionate lover of all the arts. A passionate lover of all the arts, he died in October 2006.



Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction Prize
Second Deadline

May 25, 2016
For books published between
March 23 - May 24

Hilary Weston Writers' Trust Prize for Nonfiction
Second Deadline

May 25, 2016
For books published between
March 23 - May 24

Shaughnessy Cohen Prize for Political Writing  
First Deadline

June 15, 2016
For books published between
Jan 1 - June 14

Woodcock Fund



Recommended Reading List

We asked some of Canada's finest writers about their favourite books of 2015.

Read their Recommendations.


E Newsletter Sign Up

Sign-up for our eNewsletter. Get info about Authors and our latest Events.

Sign up now!

Site design & development supported by

ecentricarts inc