Make a contribution to the Writers' Trust of Canada Donate Now

2017 Journey Prize shortlist Sharon Bala, The New Quarterly; Richard Kelly Kemick, Maisonneuve; Darlene Naponse, The Malahat Review

Writers' Trust Announces Finalists for $10,000 Writers' Trust/McClelland & Stewart Journey Prize

Toronto – September 13, 2017 –
The Writers’ Trust of Canada has revealed the finalists for the Writers’ Trust/McClelland & Stewart Journey Prize, recognizing new and developing writers for the best short story first published in a Canadian literary journal during the previous year. The winner will be announced on November 14.

The three finalists, selected by a jury composed of writers Kevin Hardcastle, Grace O’Connell, and Ayelet Tsabari, are:

Sharon Bala, The New Quarterly

Sharon Bala (St. John’s, NL) 
for “Butter Tea at Starbucks
published in The New Quarterly

Richard Kelly Kemick Maisonneuve Journey Prize

Richard Kelly Kemick (Calgary, AB)
for “The Most Human Part of You
published in Maisonneuve

Darlene Naponse The Malahat Review Journey Prize
Darlene Naponse
(Atikameksheng Anishnawbek, ON)
for “She Is Water
published in The Malahat Review

Each of the three finalists will receive $1,000, the prizewinner will receive a total of $10,000, and the journal that originally published the winning entry will receive $2,000. This prize is made possible by James A. Michener’s donation of his Canadian royalty earnings from his 1998 novel Journey. In association with the prize, McClelland & Stewart will publish The Journey Prize Stories 29, a collection of the 12 stories that formed the longlist for this year’s prize. The anthology will be available September 26.

This is the 29th year of the Journey Prize. Past winners include Yann Martel, Alissa York, Saleema Nawaz, and Yasuko Thanh.

The winner of the Journey Prize will be announced at the Writers’ Trust Awards ceremony in Toronto’s Glenn Gould Studio on Tuesday, November 14, where a total of seven national literary awards and more than $200,000 in prize money will be presented to Canadian writers.

About the Writers’ Trust of Canada

The Writers’ Trust of Canada is a charitable organization that seeks to advance, nurture, and celebrate Canadian writers and writing through a portfolio of programs including ten national literary awards, a fellowship, financial grants, scholarships, and a writers’ retreat. Writers’ Trust programming is designed to champion excellence in Canadian writing, to improve the status of writers, and to create connections between writers and readers. Canada’s writers receive more financial support from the Writers’ Trust than from any other non-governmental organization or foundation in the country.

About the Writers’ Trust Awards Ceremony

An annual event awarding more than $200,000 to Canadian writers, the Writers’ Trust Awards Ceremony is one of the richest prize-giving nights in Canada. In addition to the Journey Prize, awards to be presented are:

For a single book:

For a body of work:

The Writers’ Trust Awards are made possible through generous support from corporate, foundation, and individual sponsors. Partners CBC Books, The Globe and Mail, and Indigo provide additional support. The project is partially funded by the Government of Canada through the Department of Canadian Heritage.


For more information and interview opportunities, contact:
Becky Toyne, 416-871-0502

Writers' Trust Sponsorship

Interested in Corporate
or Foundation sponsorship?

For more details about opportunities, recognition, and to see a list of our current sponsors...More


Recommended Reading List

We asked some of Canada's finest writers about their summer reading in 2017. 

Read their Recommendations.


E Newsletter Sign Up

Sign-up for our eNewsletter. Get info about Authors and our latest Events.

Sign up now!

Site design & development supported by

ecentricarts inc