Make a contribution to the Writers' Trust of Canada Donate Now

Writers' Trust Gala


Miriam Toews accepts the $50,000 Writers' Trust Fellowship at the 2016 gala

The Writers’ Trust Gala brings the business and arts communities together in support of Canadian writers and writing. One of the most anticipated and prestigious events of the year, the gala boasts a lively, literary energy unlike any other fundraiser in the city.

The gala is brought to life by dynamic dinner guests, including a Canadian writer at every table. Past guest authors include such luminaries as Margaret Atwood, Miriam Toews, Emma Donoghue, Anne Michaels, Adrienne Clarkson, Noah Richler, Ann-Marie MacDonald, and Lawrence Hill. 

The highlight of the evening is the presentation of the $50,000 Writers Trust Fellowship, part of a three-year plan to award $150,000 to Canadian writers in celebration of the upcoming sesquicentennial.

Chairs: Don Tapscott and Ana P. Lopes

Committee: Sharon Haward-Laird, Peter Kahnert, Jennifer Lambert, Marla Lehberg, Mary Osborne, Neve Peric, and Patti Thorlakson. 

Presenting Sponsor:
Writers' Trust Gala Presenting Sponsor BMO Bank of Montreal


For questions about the Writers' Trust Gala, please contact: 
Kayla Calder, Coordinator of Special Events and Sponsorships or 416-504-8222 x243  

2016 Sponsors and Attending Writers

Presenting Sponsor
  • BMO
Authors Sponsor
  • Raymond James
First Edition Sponsors
  • Globe and Mail
  • Rogers
  • RBC
  • The Sprott Foundation
  • TD Bank
Hardcover Sponsors
  • Aird & Berlis
  •  Anonymous
  • CIBC
  •  George and Tami Cope
  • Davies
  • Diane Francis and John Beck
  •  Jocelyn Hidi
  • Latner Family Foundation  
  • Marla and David Lehberg 
  • National Bank 
  • Penguin Random House Canada
  • Don Tapscott and Ana P Lopes
Paperback Sponsors
  • Banff Centre for Arts and Creativity
  • Chestnut Park Real Estate
  • Crowe Soberman LLP
  • Kari Cullen
  • Di Prata Family
  • Diamond Schmitt Architects
  • Janet Eger
  • Fogler, Rubinoff LLP
  • Allen Garson and Alanna Rondi
  • Alex Graham
  • Grant & Sadvari
  • The Grouse and Trout Club
  • HarperCollins Publishers Ltd.
  • Humber College
  • iBooks Emerging Authors Table
  • Brian Imrie, Carol Sewell & Friends
  • Longview Asset Management
  • Hon. Margaret Norrie McCain
  • Bill & Sally Morris
  • Navigator
  • Nexus Investment Management
  • Simon & Schuster Canada
    2016 Attending Writers
  • Katherine Govier
  • Jacquie McNish
  • Alexandra Shimo
  • Rosemary Sullivan
  • Margaret Atwood
  • Graeme Gibson
  • Tim Falconer
  • Gary Barwin
  • Jennifer Robson
  • Cherie Dimaline
  • Zoe Whittall
  • Alexandra Risen
  • Guy Gavriel Kay
  • Barry Avrich
  • Robert Rotenberg
  • Sandra Martin
  • Diane Francis
  • Kamal Al-Solaylee
  • Linwood Barclay
  • Bill, Hon. Graham
  • Stephen Marche
  • David Bezmozgis Goldbloom
  • Pier Bryden
  • Max Eisen
  • Kerry Lee Powell
  • Lynne Kutsukake
  • Irfan Ali
  • Brendan Bowles
  • Mahak Jain
  • Rupi Kaur
  • Andrew MacDonald
  • J.R. McConvey
  • Chuqiao Yang
  • David Bezmozgis
  • Denise Donlon
  • Noah Richler
  • Adam Sol
  • Liz Howard
  • Ian Brown
  • Marni Jackson
  • Cordelia Strube
  • Camilla Gibb
  • Ron Tite
  • Alissa York
  • Ray Robertson
  • Miriam Toews
  • Don Tapscott
  • Michael Helm
  • Teva Harrison
  • Charlotte Gray
  • Alexandre Trudeau
  • George Elliott Clarke
  • Kirstine Stewart
  • John Stackhouse
  • Melanie Mah

Writers' Trust Sponsorship

Interested in Corporate
or Foundation sponsorship?

For more details about opportunities, recognition, and to see a list of our current sponsors...More


Recommended Reading List

We asked some of Canada's finest writers about their favourite books of 2016.

Read their Recommendations.


E Newsletter Sign Up

Sign-up for our eNewsletter. Get info about Authors and our latest Events.

Sign up now!

Site design & development supported by

ecentricarts inc