Writers' Trust Engel / Findley Award

Winner: $25,000

Prize Guidelines

The $25,000 Writers' Trust Engel/Findley Award is given once a year to a Canadian writer, in recognition of a remarkable body of work and in anticipation of future contributions to Canadian literature.

All eligible writers in mid-career are to be considered. For the purposes of this award, mid-career is defined as having published in Canada at least three books of literary merit which are predominantly fiction. There are no age or gender criteria.

An independent jury selects the winner, and there is no submission process. This award was created in 2008 by merging the Marian Engel Award and the Timothy Findley Award.



Woodcock Fund


Recommended Reading List

We asked some of Canada's finest writers about their summer reading in 2017.

Read their Recommendations.


E Newsletter Sign Up

Sign-up for our eNewsletter. Get info about Authors and our latest Events.

Sign up now!

Site design & development supported by

ecentricarts inc