Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction Prize

Winner: $25,000; Finalists: $2,500

Prize Guidelines

A prize of $25,000 will be awarded to the novel or short-story collection published between October 1, 2015 and September 30, 2016 that, in the opinion of the jurors, is the year’s best book of fiction. The jurors will shortlist between three and five titles. Prizes of $2,500 will be awarded to each of the finalists.

Eligibility Criteria

  • Titles must be published in Canada between October 1, 2015 and September 30, 2016. Books that are not yet in final published form by the deadline of July 27 may be submitted as bound galleys.

  • Books must be English-language, first-edition trade books published by a Canadian press, written by Canadian citizens or permanent residents of Canada. Previous publication in another country does not disqualify a book.

  • Translations from other languages into English are eligible and will be considered in the year in which the English translation is published. In the event of a translation winning the prize, the prize money will be divided as follows: $18,750 to the author, $6,250 to the translator.

  • To be eligible publishing houses must have a professional editorial process independent from the authors whose books are submitted for consideration. They must not charge authors for publishing their works.

  • All books must have an ISBN number and be available in Canadian bookstores.

  • Titles may be single-authored or co-authored. Multi-authored collections, anthologies, and conference proceedings are not eligible.

  • Self-published books are not eligible.

  • Ghostwritten books are not eligible.

  • No more than 20% of the manuscript can be previously published in book form.

  • Books whose author was deceased at the time of publication are not eligible.

  • Publishers should note that the prize is for literary excellence and therefore they should only submit books they deem outstanding in this regard.

Nomination Process

The schedule for submissions is tied to publication dates as follows:

Deadline 1: Wednesday, March 23, 2016
For books published between October 1, 2015 and March 22, 2016

Deadline 2: Wednesday, May 25, 2016 
For books published between March 23, 2016 and May 24, 2016

Deadline 3: Wednesday, July 27, 2016
For books published between May 25, 2016 and September 30, 2016

Publishers are strongly encouraged to submit books prior to the deadlines. Submissions upon release of titles are appreciated. If a publisher, for any reason whatsoever, feels they cannot submit titles in accordance with the above schedule it is requested that they contact the Program Manager to discuss alternate arrangements or the possibility of an extension.

Number of Submissions

All Canadian-based publishers of original manuscripts may enter two books. Companies publishing more than five eligible fiction titles may add one book for every additional two eligible (or fraction thereof) on their fiction list, up to a maximum of five. See the chart below for reference. Please note that the rules regarding the number of submissions for the Rogers Writers’ Trust Fiction Prize differ from all other prizes administered by the Writers’ Trust.

        Books Published

   Eligible to Submit
5 or fewer 2
6 - 7 3
8 - 9 4
10 or more 5

Required Materials

The following must be submitted by the final deadline on July 27, 2016:

  • Five copies of each eligible title in book form; or three bound galleys, with at least two copies of the finished book to be received by the Writers’ Trust upon publication.

  • A Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction Prize submission form listing all submitted titles and planned submissions sent with the first shipment of books (do not send mulitiple copies unless you make changes to your submission plans.)

  • Publishers submitting more than two titles must provide a list of all titles published during the calendar year on which that publisher’s eligibility is based. This list should include authors, titles, and dates of publication.

  • Electronic images of the author and book cover suitable for reproduction in print materials. Contact the Program Manager for instructions on sending large images. Please name each file as follows: "Fiction_AuthorLastName_FirstName” and “Fiction_AuthorLastName_BookTitle” 

Jury Composition

A three-person jury selects the winner and finalists of the Rogers Writers’ Trust Fiction Prize. The jury acts independently of the Writers’ Trust and is charged with interpreting the mandate and eligibility criteria of the prize, as well as determining which of the submissions best reflect the prize mandate. In evaluating the writing, literary merit is the sole criteria. Each juror may request an unlimited number of additional titles from a publisher’s list. Such titles are on equal footing with all other submissions, provided that their publishers agree to abide by the conditions laid out in this document. The judgment of the jury in selecting the winners, determining eligibility, and interpreting these rules is final.

Announcement of Nominees & Winners

The list of finalist authors will be announced in September 2016 and the award will be presented in November 2016 in Toronto at the Writers’ Trust Awards.

Publisher Obligations

If an author is a finalist the publisher will agree to:

  • Supply the Writers’ Trust with 18 additional copies of the shortlisted book for publicity purposes.

  • Affix stickers provided by the Writers’ Trust to all outgoing copies of the current edition of the finalist and winning books and include prize sticker artwork on an subsequent editions.

  • Participate in promotion and publicity efforts undertaken by the Writers’ Trust and stress the importance of this with their authors.

  • Commit resources, in accordance to their ability, to ensure shortlisted authors are able to attend the International Festival of Authors in Toronto in October 2016 

Send submissions to:

Amanda Hopkins, Program Manager
The Rogers Writers’ Trust Fiction Prize
Writers’ Trust of Canada
600 - 460 Richmond Street West
Toronto, ON  M5V 1Y1



Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction Prize 
Third Deadline

July 27, 2016
For books published between
May 25 - Sept 30

Hilary Weston Writers' Trust Prize for Nonfiction
Third Deadline

July 27, 2016
For books published between
May 25 - Sept 30

Shaughnessy Cohen Prize for Political Writing  
First Deadline

June 15, 2016
For books published between
Jan 1 - June 14

Woodcock Fund



Recommended Reading List

We asked some of Canada's finest writers about their favourite books of 2015.

Read their Recommendations.


E Newsletter Sign Up

Sign-up for our eNewsletter. Get info about Authors and our latest Events.

Sign up now!

Site design & development supported by

ecentricarts inc