2006 Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction Prize Winner

2006 Rogers Writers’ Trust Fiction Prize winner Kenneth J. Harvey for Inside, published by Random House Canada

Kenneth J. Harvey
Random House Canada

Rogers Writers’ Trust Fiction Prize 2005 winner Joseph Boyden

In a world of formulaic fiction, Inside is a point-blank godsend. Daring, difficult, and utterly uncompromising, the novel is a profound exploration of one man’s halting attempt at redemption. 

In pitch-perfect prose, without a moment of sentimentality, Kenneth Harvey takes the reader inside Myrden’s world in a rough St. John’s neighbourhood. The language of the book, like the main character it evokes, seems to be wrought in violent poverty, tempered in prison, and determined to break through into grace.

-2006 Rogers Writers’ Trust Fiction Prize jury (Karen Connelly, Jeffrey Moore, and Anna Porter)

About the Book

After fourteen years of incarceration, Myrden is finally released when his conviction for murder is overturned; wrongfully accused and imprisoned, he will be a rich man after he receives his legal settlement. We meet his friends, his betrayers, his avaricious wife, his alienated daughter and loving granddaughter. And we watch as his attempt to change his life and the lives of those he loves brings the novel to a conclusion as inevitable as it is riveting. 

About the Author

Kenneth J. Harvey is one of Newfoundland’s most prolific and unique writers. He has won the Rogers Writers’ Trust Fiction Prize, the Thomas Raddall Atlantic Fiction Award, the Winterset Award, and Italy’s Libro Del Mare. Harvey is the co-founder of the ReLit Awards, which promotes books published by independent Canadian publishers.



Woodcock Fund


Recommended Reading List

We asked some of Canada's finest writers about their summer reading in 2017.

Read their Recommendations.


E Newsletter Sign Up

Sign-up for our eNewsletter. Get info about Authors and our latest Events.

Sign up now!

Site design & development supported by

ecentricarts inc