Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction Prize Finalist

Kathleen WinterAnnabelKathleen Winter

House of Anansi Press

About the Book

In 1968, in remote coastal Labrador, a child is born who appears to be neither fully boy nor girl, but both at once. The three people who know the secret – the baby’s parents and a trusted neighbour – decide to raise the child as a boy named Wayne. But as Wayne grows to adulthood within the hyper-masculine hunting culture of his father, his shadow-self – a girl he thinks of as Annabel – is never entirely extinguished, and is secretly nurtured by the women in his life.

About the Author

Kathleen Winter has written dramatic and documentary scripts for Sesame Street and CBC Television. Her first collection of short stories, boYs, was the winner of the Winterset Award and Metcalfe-Rooke Award. Her brother, Michael Winter, is also nominated for this prize. A long-time resident of St. John’s, Newfoundland, she now lives in Montreal.


Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction Prize
and Hilary Weston Writers' Trust Prize for Nonfiction
Second Deadline

May 27, 2015
For books published between Mar 25 - May 26

Shaughnessy Cohen Prize for Political Writing
First Deadline

June 10, 2015
For books published between Jan 1 - June 9

Berton House writer-in-residence

October 2, 2015


Woodcock Fund





Recommended Reading List

We asked some of Canada's finest writers about their favourite books of 2014

Read their Recommendations.


E Newsletter Sign Up

Sign-up for our eNewsletter. Get info about Authors and our latest Events.

Sign up now!

Site design & development supported by

ecentricarts inc