RBC Bronwen Wallace Award for Emerging Writers

Winner: $5,000; Finalists: $1,000
Sponsored by

RBC Emerging Artists Project



Alternating yearly between poetry and short fiction, the 2014 prize will be given for an outstanding work of unpublished short fiction. 

Find out this year's RBC Bronwen Wallace Award shortlist on April 29, and join us on May 27 at 5:30 pm when we reveal the winner at the Royal Conservatory of Music's Leslie and Anna Dan Galleria in Toronto. 

For 20 years this award has been helping to launch the careers of young, up-and-coming authors. In that time, 66 emerging writers have been named winners or finalists, and 43 have since published one book or more. Alumni include Marjorie Celona, Michael Crummey, Jeramy Dodds, Alison Pick, Tanis Rideout, and Alissa York.  

2013 Prize Winner

Laura ClarkeLaura Clarke          
"Mule Variations"           

Jury Citation

"Something both hip and ancient is given full rein in these poems: hard limits slurping in the sun, Aristotle and police reports, electric fences and pick-up lines, subway riders have donkey heads. These alternating voices speak without fluff. A washed-out sardonic tone delivers a sure push that is humane and celebratory."

Laura Clarke is a Toronto-based writer and a graduate of the MA Program in English in the field of creative writing at the University of Toronto. She has had work published in The Antigonish Review, Grain, PRISM international, Qwerty, and Freefall.

Prize Finalists

The finalists were selected by a jury comprised of the poets Mary Dalton, Phil Hall, and Susan Holbrook, who read 135 blind submissions in total. 

Matwichuk, Laura
Laura Matwichuk 
"Here Comes The Future"

Showler, Suzannah
Suzannah Showler

"The Reason and Other Poems"



Download on the iBookstoreThe nominated poems are available as a free download on Apple’s iBookstore at iTunes.com/BronwenWallace.

You can also download a PDF version here.

2013 Event Photos 


About the Prize

Bronwen WallaceBronwen Wallace was a poet, short story writer, and mentor to many young writers as a creative writing instructor at Queen's University and St. Lawrence College in Kingston. This prize was established in her honour in 1994 by a group of friends and colleagues. Wallace felt that writers should receive greater recognition early in their careers and so this annual award is given to a writer below the age of 35 who has published poetry or prose in literary magazines, journals, or anthologies, but has not yet been published in book form.

About the Sponsor

This award is supported by the RBC Emerging Artists Project, which invests in up-and-coming artists to help build their professional careers. In 2012, RBC invested $6.2 million in programs that support Arts and Culture in Canada and around the world. The RBC Emerging Artists Project consists of support through sponsorships and donations to organizations whose programs bridge the gap from academic excellence to professional careers in all forms of art.


Hilary Weston Writers' Trust Prize for Nonfiction and Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction Prize
Second Deadline

May 28, 2014 for books published between
March 26 & May 27

Woodcock Fund





Recommended Reading List

Canadian writers choose their favourite books of 2013.

Read their Recommendations.


E Newsletter Sign Up

Sign-up for our eNewsletter. Get info about Authors and our latest Events.

Sign up now!

Site design & development supported by

ecentricarts inc