Writers’ Trust of Canada / McClelland & Stewart Journey Prize

Winner: $10,000; Finalists: $1,000 

2014 Prize


The winner of the 2014 Journey Prize will be revealed at the Writers' Trust Awards on November 4. Find out the shortlist on October 1.

The Journey Prize Stories 26, featuring the best Canadian short stories from the last year as chosen by jurors Steven W. Beattie, Craig Davidson, and Saleema Nawaz, is available in stores October 7. For updates visit The Journey Prize on Facebook.



2013 Prize Winner

Journey Prize 25

Naben Ruthnum
For "Cinema Rex"

Published by The Malahat Review

Naben Ruthnum

About the Story

“Cinema Rex” is as rich and visual as the films at its centre, which play on the new movie screen in one neighbourhood of Mauritius in the 1950s. The author beautifully draws the connections between the changing community, inundated by Hollywood and after-school English lessons, and a season of vital shifts for three friends transitioning out of boyhood. Full of heady sensory details, Naben Ruthnum’s deft observations of family and class interactions create an entire world of established histories and hierarchies, even though the reader is only privy to a sliver of these stories.

About the Author 

Naben Ruthnum lives and writes in Toronto, and has been previously published in Riddle Fence, Joyland, Qwerty, and Ellery Queen’s Mystery Magazine. Under the pseudonym Nathan Ripley, he recently completed a thriller called Scrapbook. He is currently working on a novel based on the characters in “Cinema Rex.”

Prize Finalists

Doretta Lau
Doretta Lau

For “How Does a Single Blade of Grass Thank the Sun?”

Eliza Robertson
Eliza Robertson

For “My Sister Sang”

Grain Magazine

Celebrating the 25th anniversary of The Journey Prize Stories, 2013’s edition was compiled by jurors Miranda Hill, Mark Medley, and Russell Wangersky. 


About the Prize

The Writers’ Trust of Canada/McClelland & Stewart Journey Prize is awarded annually to a new and developing writer of distinction for a short story published in a Canadian literary publication. This award is made possible by James A. Michener’s generous donation of his Canadian royalty earnings from his novel Journey, published by McClelland & Stewart in 1988. The winner, selected by a three-member, independent judging panel, is announced at the Writers’ Trust Awards event. For more information about the prize visit the McClelland & Stewart website.

Martel_Yann.jpg "I, for one, owe everything to the Journey Prize; I don't mean the money -- I mean the attention, the publicity, the boost in confidence ... . It got the ball rolling for me.”  Yann Martel Winner, 1991 Journey Prize


Shaughnessy Cohen Prize for Political Writing
Final Deadline

November 5, 2014 for books published between
July 9 & Dec 31

Berton House Writer-in-Residence

October 3, 2014

Woodcock Fund





Recommended Reading List

Check out what some of Canada's finest writers are reading this summer.

Read their Recommendations.


E Newsletter Sign Up

Sign-up for our eNewsletter. Get info about Authors and our latest Events.

Sign up now!

Site design & development supported by

ecentricarts inc