Dayne Ogilvie Prize for LGBT Emerging Writers

Winner: $4,000
Sponsored by Robin Pacific

Join us for the announcement of the 2014 Dayne Ogilvie Prize on June 23 at 5:30pm at the NOW Lounge in Toronto. Hosted by NOW editor and activist Susan G. Cole, the event will feature the announcement of the prize winner to an emerging Canadian writer from the LGBT community who demonstrates great promise through a body of work of exceptional quality.

2013 Prize Winner

Gatchalian, C.E

C.E. Gatchalian

Jury citation 

C.E. Gatchalian’s multifarious voice has emerged in many places. As a playwright, poet, cultural curator, and mentor, Gatchalian is reaching ever-growing audiences across Canada, not only broadening the creative dialogue on queer identity, but also championing intricate portraits of race, survivorship, and sexuality. Being both candid and complex requires assiduity on the part of the author. His newest play, Falling in Time, is an unflinching look at war, masculinity, migration, intimacy, and love.

About the Author

Born, raised, and based in Vancouver, Filipino-Canadian author C. E. Gatchalian writes drama, poetry, fiction, and nonfiction. His plays, which include Broken, Crossing, Claire, and Motifs & Repetitions, have appeared on radio and television and on national and international stages. A recipient of numerous grants from the Canada Council and the BC Arts Council, he has been Playwright-in-Residence at the Vancouver Playhouse and the Firehall Arts Centre, and Writer-in-Residence at the Berton House in Dawson City, Yukon. Recent work includes his play for young audiences, People Like Vince, which toured BC, Saskatchewan, and Ontario. His latest play, Falling in Time, premiered in Vancouver in 2011, was published by Scirocco Drama/J Gordon Shillingford in 2012, and was a finalist for the Lambda Literary Award. He is currently Artistic Producer of the Frank Theatre Company.

Honours of Distinction

Mahadevan, Anand

Anand Mahadevan

Webster, Barry

Barry Webster


About the Prize

Established in 2007, the prize is presented to an emerging Canadian writer from the LGBT community who demonstrates great promise through a body of work of exceptional quality. Writers who identify themselves as LGBT are eligible and while no age restriction exists, the prize is intended for developing writers. The winner, selected by a three-member, independent judging panel, is presented with the grant annually.

About the Sponsor

The prize was established by Robin Pacific, a close personal friend of Dayne Ogilvie. Mr. Ogilvie was a highly respected freelance book editor, writer, and manager. A passionate lover of all the arts, he died in October 2006.


Hilary Weston Writers' Trust Prize for Nonfiction and Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction Prize
Second Deadline

May 28, 2014 for books published between
March 26 & May 27

Woodcock Fund





Recommended Reading List

Canadian writers choose their favourite books of 2013.

Read their Recommendations.


E Newsletter Sign Up

Sign-up for our eNewsletter. Get info about Authors and our latest Events.

Sign up now!

Site design & development supported by

ecentricarts inc